What countries were in the German Confederation?

What two countries dominated the German Confederation?

The North German Confederation, established under the orders of Bismarck in 1867, was an alliance of 22 German states, all of them located north of the Main River. It was dominated by Prussia, and basically consisted of those states that had supported Prussia in the Austro-Prussian War (1866).

What countries were in the German Confederation?

Members of the German Confederation were:

  • Austria (split into Upper Austria and Lower Austria in 1849)
  • Kingdom of Bohemia (Bohmen)
  • Duchy of Carinthia (Karnten)
  • Duchy of Carniola (Krain)
  • Littoral (consisting of Gorizia and Gradisca, Istria and Trieste) (Osterreichisches Kustenland)
  • March of Moravia (Morava)

Why was German Confederation of 39 states left untouched?

The German Confederation of 39 states were not changed in Treaty of Vienna because,the confederation aimed to replace the old Holy Roman Empire, which had been destroyed during the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars.

How many German states were there in 1848?

The revolutions, which stressed pan-Germanism, demonstrated popular discontent with the traditional, largely autocratic political structure of the 39 independent states of the Confederation that inherited the German territory of the former Holy Roman Empire.

IT\'S FUN:  What major problem did Germany face because of its geographic location?