What are the three levels of school in Germany?

What are the three school levels?

In most schools, compulsory education is divided into three levels: elementary school, middle or junior high school, and high school.

What are grades called in Germany?

In primary and lower secondary education (1st to 10th grade), German school children receive grades based on a 6-point grading scale ranging from 1 (excellent, sehr gut) to 6 (insufficient, ungenügend). Variations on the traditional six grade system allow for awarding grades suffixed with “+” and “-“.

What are the three types of secondary schools in Germany?

Secondary education in Germany

  • General secondary school (Hauptschule) …
  • Secondary school (Realschule) …
  • Academic secondary school (Gymnasium) …
  • Schools offering multiple qualifications (Gesamtschulen) …
  • Vocational upper secondary education (Berufschulen)

What are the three types of German schools?

Three levels in the Upper School

  • College Preparatory High School (Gymnasium) Many German children go on to College Preparatory High School (Gymnasium) from fifth through twelfth grade. …
  • Technical Academic High School (Realschule) …
  • Lower Secondary School (Hauptschule)

What are the different levels of education?

Education in the United States follows a pattern similar to that in many systems. Early childhood education is followed by primary school (called elementary school in the United States), middle school, secondary school (called high school in the United States), and then postsecondary (tertiary) education.

IT\'S FUN:  How can I get tourist visa for Germany?

What are the levels of school in Canada?

In general elementary school in Canada runs from kindergarten to grade 6, junior high or middle school runs from grades 7-8, and high school runs from grades 9-12. This varies from province to province. Kindergarten starts as early as four years old, while most high school graduates turn 18 the year they graduate.

What grade is a 15 year old in Germany?

Secondary education in Germany consists of two general phases, although things vary across the different states. There is the lower phase (sekundarstufe I), which in most states takes place between ages 10 and 15/16 (or from grades 5 to 9/10). This is compulsory for all students.