Quick Answer: What type of government was the North German Confederation?

What was the northern German Confederation?

The North German Union was the product of the 1866 Austro-Prussian War. It was a federal state that comprised 21 German states in addition to the Kingdom of Prussia. The German states that did not join the North German Confederation were Wurttemberg, Baden, Bavaria, Austria, and Southern Hesse.

What type of government did Germany have in 1871?

German Empire

German Empire Deutsches Reich
Government Federal parliamentary semi-constitutional monarchy (1871–1916) Federal parliamentary semi-constitutional monarchy under a military dictatorship (1916–1918)
• 1871–1888 Wilhelm I
• 1888 Friedrich III

Why did the North German Confederation form?

North German Confederation, German Norddeutscher Bund, union of the German states north of the Main River formed in 1867 under Prussian hegemony after Prussia’s victory over Austria in the Seven Weeks’ War (1866). … Its constitution served as a model for that of the German Empire, with which it merged in 1871.

What was the North German Confederation quizlet?

The North German Confederation was formed, with the north German states joining together, and the Southern German states having to pay large indemnities to Prussia. This occurred when the nationalistic king of Denmark, Fredrick VII, tried to annex the two provinces, Schleswig and Holstein, into the kingdom of Denmark.

IT\'S FUN:  How do you check if degree is Recognised in Germany?

What was the purpose of the German Confederation?

German Confederation, organization of 39 German states, established by the Congress of Vienna in 1815 to replace the destroyed Holy Roman Empire. It was a loose political association, formed for mutual defense, with no central executive or judiciary.

How was the South German Confederation formed?

The two decisions, The Walhalla and The Schwabing Circles of Bavaria, can also be taken by South German Federation even if it is formed by Württemberg or Baden.

South German Federation
Capital Varies (Munich, Stuttgart or Karlsruhe)
Population N/A
Primary culture South German
Accepted cultures